Top state officials address Police Jury convention

Shreveport, LA—More than 1,000 federal, state and local government officials gathered for the 87th Annual Police Jury Association Convention. This year’s event was held in Caddo Parish at the Shreveport Convention Center from February 17-19, 2011. Attendees were given Congressional and state updates on a variety of issues. They also visited with over 100 interest groups related to the day-to-day operations of parish government.

Elected and appointed officials such as Governor Bobby Jindal, Secretary of State Tom Schedler, Attorney General Buddy Caldwell, Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain, State Representative Elton Aubert DEQ Secretary Peggy Hatch, DOTD Secretary Sherri LeBas, DNR Secretary Scott Angelle, GOHSEP Director Mark Cooper, and State Fire Marshall Butch Browning addressed the local government leaders during the three-day convention.

The convention was a special time for outgoing President Carl Pierson, Sr., of Caddo Parish, as he hosted the successful convention. During the Saturday night banquet Pierson, Sr., passed the gavel to incoming President Paul Naquin of St. Mary Parish.

“At this critical time in our economic situation, it is vital that all public servants, from the local to the federal level, work hand-in-hand to assure a better future for those we serve,” says Naquin.

Topics of conversation ranged from redistricting, member services, state and federal budgets, local government financing, ethics, highway funding, tourism, emergency preparedness, drainage and the upcoming special and regular sessions of the Legislature.

Other officers installed at the annual banquet included 1st Vice President Gerald “Mike” McLeod of Beauregard Parish, 2nd Vice President Melvin Haymon of Vernon Parish and 3rd Vice President Lisa Nelson of St. Martin Parish. Other executive board members sworn in include William “Bill” Altimus of Bossier Parish, Mack Calhoun of Ouachita Parish, Gordon Burgess of Tangipahoa Parish, Francis Andrepont of Calcasieu Parish, Joe Bishop of Rapides Parish, Bernard Broussard of Iberia Parish, David Cox of Caddo Parish, Mike Huval of St. Martin Parish, John Marceaux of Jefferson Davis Parish, and Scott Perry, Jr., of Rapides Parish. Also included on the executive board are past presidents including immediate past president Carl Pierson, Sr., Sandy Treme of Calcasieu Parish, Sam Fulton of Vernon Parish, Richard Billings of Rapides, Bob Manuel of Evangeline, and Red Higginbotham of St. Martin. Henry “Bo” Lagrange of St. Mary Parish was elected as the new President of the Organization of Parish Administrative Officials and Elton Pickering of Beauregard Parish as President of the Louisiana Parish Engineers and Supervisor’s Association.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us