Wolves, Ladies names to All-District selections

By: Lisa Soileaux
Both the Wolves and Lady Wolves entered the 2011-2012 state basketball playoffs ranked at #31 and both young teams fell to their opponents in the first round.

But, the Wolves as district co-champions, made a mark when selections came about for the 5-3A All-District listing.

Rayne’s Lacy Granger was tagged this year’s Most Valuable Player of 5-3A. The senior dumped in 197 points during district play with an average of 62% for the agressive inside player.

Granger was also very consistent at the free throw line tapping in almost 100 points at the charity line for 48%. He also pulled down 82 rebounds and recorded 28 steals. On the entire season, Granger tallied over 400 points for the Wolves.

Granger is joined on first team selections by teammate Michael Henry, who dumped in 99 district points and 269 overall. During district play, Henry collected 14 three-pointers and 58 rebounds for the Wolves.

Completing First Team selections are Marquel Brown of Livonia, Kenneth Hicks of Northwest and Markell Broussard of Port Barre.

Dannie Harmon was named to Second Team selections while Ian Pappillion was named during All-Defensive Team picks.

Harmon was noted for the defensive honor as he completed the 2011-2012 district slate with 24 steals and 50 rebounds, while excelling at the free throw line with a 72% average. On the entire season, he tallied over 200 points and 48 steals.

Completing Second Team selections are Reshun Andrus of Port Barre, Michael Lastrapes of Northwest, and Shon Edwards and Ben Allison of Eunice.

Rayne’s Ian Pappillion led All-Defensive selections, joined by Church Point’s Chance Roy, Trenon Trosclair of Eunice, Livonia’s Albert Leach, D’ante Lewis of Northwest, and Port Barre’s CJ Vedell.

Selected 5-3A’s Coach of the Year is John Babineaux of Northwest, whose Raiders ended in a two-way tie with the Wolves following district play.

The Lady Wolves were well-represented during 5-3A All-District selections, as well.

The Lone Lady Wolf selected to first team was this year’s lone senior, Brandy Gibson. The three-year startertotaled over 200 points during district play with an everage of 8.8 points per game. Gibson also collected 55 steals on the season, along with a 66% free throw average.

Completing First Team selections are Aaliyah Pickney of Port Barre, and Ashley Leday, Bianca Mason and Breanna Lavine of Northwest.

Second Team selections include Adriana Guillory of Eunice, Mary Citizen of Church Point, CHelsea Savoy of Port Barre, Jada Hall of Livonia and Crystal Leday of Northwest.

Northwest’s Leday was selected the season’s MVP, while her coach, Latocha Malone was named Coach of the Year.

Teammate Tanner Wilson was named to the All-District All-Defensive Team. Only a sophmore, Wilson will help lead next season’s Lady Wolves in their continued rebuilding process.

Completing the All-Defensive Team are Raven Alexander of Church Point, Porsha Blackmore of Livonia, Breanna Lavine of Northwest, Kwanzaa Andrus of Port Barre and Adrianna Guillory of Eunice.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us