Article Image Alt Text

Finally, election day has arrived!

The day of recckoning has arrived.
Voters across Acadia Parish will join those statewide Saturday in selecting a list of state officials along with many parish offices.
In the most hotly-contested race locally, five-term Clerk of Court Robert “Robby” Barousse is being challenged by Emily Stoma, who last year ran unsuccessfully for mayor of Crowley.
Barousse is running on his experience in the office while Stoma is citing a need for change after nearly seven decades of a Barousse holding that office.
Both candidates are Republicans.
Polls open at 7 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m.
Other races in Acadia Parish include:
Police Jury District 1: Walter Andrus (D); incumbent Peter J. Joseph (D).
Police Jury District 2: incumbent “Ronnie” Fabacher (R); Jeffery “Red Dog” Morgan (R).
Police Jury District 3: Chance Henry (R); Homer Sheufens (I).
Police Jury District 4: Grant Clark (NP); Aaron C. Cutrer Jr. (D); Gordon Ray “G-Ray” Morgan (R); Chester Pommier (D).
Police Jury District 5: James “J” Ancelet (D); incumbent Jimmie Pellerin (D).
Police Jury District 6: A.J. “Jay” Credeur (R); incumbent Richard Faul (D)
Police Jury District 7: “Pat” Daigle (R); incumbent David Savoy (R).
In District 8, only Steve Comeaux, a Republican, qualified.
A special election was avoided to fill a vacant seat on the Mermentau board of aldermen when Todd Boudreaux, a Democrat, was the lone qualifier.
Incumbents Sheriff K.P. Gibson, Assessor James “Jimbo” Petitjean and Coroner Dr. Mark Dawson were returned to office without opposition.
Statewide, the top three candidates in the race for Louisiana governor are incumbent Democrat John Bel Edwards and Republicans Ralph Abraham and Eddie Lispone.
Unless one of those candidates garners over 50 percent of the vote, a runoff election will be held on Saturday, Nov. 16.
Other gubernatorial candidates include Oscar Omar” Dantzler (D), Gary Landrieu (I) and Patrick “Live Wire” Landry (R).
Incumbent Lt. Gov. William “Billy” Nungesser, a Republican, has opposition this year from Democrats Willie Jones and Rao M. Uppu.
In other statewide races:
• Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin (R) is challenged by “Gwen” Collins-Greenup (D), Thomas J. Kennedy III (R) and Amanda “Jennings” Smith (R).
• Attorney General Jeff Landry (R) is challenged by “Ike” Jackson Jr. (D).
• Treasurer John M. Schroder (R) is facing Derrick Edwards (D) and Teresa Kenny (NP).
• Commissioner of Agriculture & Forestry Michael G. “Mike” Strain is challenged by Marguerite Green (D), “Charlie” Greer (D), Peter Williams (D) and Bradley Zaunbrecher (R).
• Commissioner of Insurance James J. “Jim” Donelon (R) is opposed by “Tim” Temple (R).
In the race for the District 7 (which includes Acadia Parish) seat on the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education incumbent board member Holly Franks Boffy, a Republican, is facing opposition from Timala “Timmie” Melancon, an Independent.
Three Republicans are looking to replace a termed-out Dan “Blade” Morrish as State Senator in the 25th District. Mark Abraham, Kevin M. Berken and John E. “Johnny” Guinn are candidates.
In the 26th District, incumbent Sen. Bob Hensgens, a Republican, is challenged by Jerry Gaspard, a Democrat.
In Senate District 28, three candidates are seeking to replace a termed-out Eric LaFleur. Candidates are Republican Heather Cloud and Democrats Robert Johnson and H. Bernard LeBas.
State Rep. Phillip R. Devillier, 41st District and State Rep. John Stefanski, 42nd District, were unopposed in their bids for re-election.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793