Article Image Alt Text

IRF board election process explained

J.C. Webb resignation announced; four of nine board seats to be filled

Confusion surrounding the filling of vacancies on the International Rice Festival Board of Directors was cleared up in a statement released Friday (March 9) by the remaining members of the board.
Board members Jody Viator, Kira Viator Weber and Jonathon Habetz, along with Festival Coordinator Roxie Viator, all resigned on Feb. 20.
Roxie Viator’s position has since been filled with the appointment of Shanna C. Morgan.
Announcement also was made on Friday of the resignation of J.C. Webb from the board of directors.
“After much thought, J.C. has decided to step away from his position on the board but will remain an integral part of the festival and continue his position as photography chair,” according to the board’s statement.
As of Friday, the five remaining board members include Chad Monceaux, general chairman; Randy Harris, secretarty-treasurer; and Josh Spell, Connie Nutt and Julian LeBlanc.
A review of the festival by-laws stipulates that, should the total number of board members drop below eight, a special election must be called to fill the vacancies.
Section B (1) The direction and administration of IRF, Inc., shall be vested in a Board of Directors consisting of nine (9) active members, no less than eight (8), who shall be elected annually for a term of three years, as herinafter provided. If there are less than eight (8) at any one time, there shall be a special election called to fill the necessary position(s).
The 60 or so members of the International Rice Festival Association will, therefore, be electing four members to fill the current vacancies.
Nominations will be accepted until 5 p.m. on Thursday, March 15. Once nominations are received, those nominees will be contacted to confirm that they accept placement on the ballot and official ballots will be distributed to the membership.
A special meeting of the full membership will be held Tuesday, March 20, at the Rice Theatre Annex beginning at 6:30 p.m. where all nominations will be voted upon and the four with the highest number of votes will be declared elected to fill the positions.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793