Article Image Alt Text

Acadia rejoins A.P.C.

Previous jury dropped out in July 2019

Acadia Parish has renewed its membership with the Acadiana Planning Commission.
The former police jury voted 4-3 (with one absent) in July, 2019, to withhold $10,638 in annual dues to APC.
Last Tuesday night, the new jury voted unanimously to rejoin the organization folllowing an address by Monique Boulet, CEO.
Boulet explained that APC, of which Acadia Parish had been a member for many years, served the public sector in the planning and implementation of economic, community and transportation development throughout the seven-parish Acadiana region.
“Our board of directors is comprised of parish presidents from the seven parishes along with the president of UL Lafayette and the president/CEO of One Acadiana,” she said.
Acadia Police Jury President Chance Henry said he had talked with Boulet and that APC was willing to prorate Acadia’s dues for the remainder of the fiscal year.
“That’ll come to about $3,900,” he said. “Then our full dues will be due in July.
“I think it’s vital that we participate and I didn’t want us to be paralyzed for the actions of the previous jury.”
Boulet said membership will become effective March 1.
Accompanying Boulet to the meeting were Ashley Moran, Planner, and Sara Fawcett-Gary, Director of Transportation.
The two outlined a number of projects APC is involved in that would benefit the parish.
Boulet added that APC is the Region 5 applicant for the Watershed Initiative facilitating a steering committee that is putting together a coalition to study the Bayou Teche, Vermilion River and Mermentau River watersheds.
The entire area of Acadia Parish is included in the Mermentau River watershed.
In other action during their February meeting, the police jury appointed Luke Dupré as Public Policy Advisor for the parish.
Henry explained that the LSU student is willing to work pro bono.
“He just completed a big project for the City of Crowley and I think he can assist our attorney (Glen Howie) in drafting ordinances,” Henry said. “With Mr. Howie’s guidance, I think this will be a benefit to us.”
Jurors also:
• adopted an investment policy per annual requirements of the legislative auditor;
• re-appointed George Hebert, Chris Clay and Melvin Clay to the board of directors of Fire Protection District 3;
• re-appointed Ronald Carrier and David Sonnier to the board of directors of Fire Protection District 10;
• re-appointed Steve Hooper and Shannon Richard to the board of directors of Fire Protection District 7;
• re-appointed J.D. Sittig Jr. and Richard Ruppert to the board of directors of the Bayou Mallet Gravity Drainage District; and
• appointed Lawrence Adams to fill the seat vacated by Henry on the Acadia Parish Planning Commission.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793