Pink Ladies hold spring general meeting, install new officers

THE POST-SIGNAL / Saja Hoffpauir
Frankie Johnson, center, was presented a corsage for her 90th birthday and years of service to the Pink Ladies by, from left, Dean Gaspard and President Gloria LeBlanc.

On Wednesday, May 6, the Pink Ladies of Acadia General Hospital met at the Rice Palace restaurant in Crowley to hold their election and installatio

DelaHoussaye hosts national society president

On hand for the Dames of the Court of Honor’s tour of City Hall were, from left, Larry Boston and Louisiana State Society DCH Treasurer Elaine F. Boston of Folsom; National Society DCH Chaplain Mary Wark of Greenwood; DCH member Elizabeth W. Harrell of Shreveport; DCH member Sharon B. McAvoy of Karnack, Texas; Louisiana Society DCH President Barbara delaHoussaye of Crowley; and National Society DCH President General Linda L. Rice of Lynchburg, Virginia.

Crowley resident Barbara delaHoussaye recently hosted the National Society of the Dames of the Court of Honor’s National President General, Linda L

Pink Ladies plan scholarships

On Monday, May 4, the board of the Pink Ladies of Acadia General Hospital held its regular monthly meeting in the conference room of the hospital t

Beta Sigma Phi chapters celebrate

Members of Laureate Mu and Eta Kappa Chapters of Beta Sigma Phi recently gathered at the Rice Palace to celebrate the 84th anniversary of the sorority’s founding. Beta Sigma Phi is the largest Greek letter women’s organization in the world and is devoted to service, social and cultural projects of all kinds. Debra LeJeune served as toastmistress for the event, with Brenella Joubert and Lynne Broussard providing summaries of their chapters’ highlights for the year. Laureate Mu’s Phyllis Triggs and Eta Kappa’s Shannon Hollier were recognized as 2014-15 sweethearts. Monica Bertrand received Eta Kappa’s award for best program, while Laureate Mu presented a best program award to Glenda Atkinson and an award for best program with a speaker to Jean Hanks. Receiving the Woman of the Year Award for Laureate Mu was Elsie Rowell and receiving the award for Eta Kappa was Debra LeJeune. Laureate Mu Chapter members on hand for the April 30 banquet were, seated from left, Gloria Stutes, Rowell, Nancy Tislow; standing, Triggs, Joubert, Atkinson, Connie Jaubert, Hanks and Shirley Griffin.


Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us