Members of the Crowley Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., volunteers from the Empowering the Community for Excellence tutoring center and children participating in the recent “Building a Community of Young Voters” program presented by the sorority at the tutoring center were, first row from left, Khailyn Henny, Laila Robinson, Kyla Harmon, Sherrie Augustus; second row, Tahj George, Brandon Conley Jr., Mylin Milson, Peyton Charles, Elijah Primeaux; third row, Audry Spencer, Cynthia Robinson, Brailyn Webster, Alayah Stevens, Samuel Drake, Jeremy Evans, Jonathan Kneeland, Ja’Riya Andrus, Tiarra Winbush, Ronnell George, Tyson Winbush (partially hidden), Tracy Batiste; third row, Dora Johnson, Sue Schexnayder (partially hidden), Cynthia Dominick, Chhristine Foreman, Evelyn Julian, LaQuanta Evans, Alana Guidry, Melvin Brown, Virgie Pitre, DeBira Broussard and Gretchen Rideau.

Sorority chapter teaches students to register, vote

The Crowley Alumnae Branch of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.

“Isolation” by Anna Wright, a junior from Breaux Bridge High School, is the winner of this year’s Congressional Art Competition for Louisiana’s 3rd District.

THE POST-SIGNAL / Saja Hoffpauir
On hand for the May 3 judging of the Congressional Art Competition for Louisiana’s 3rd District at The Gallery in Crowley were, seated from left, Debbie Butler, coordinator of The Gallery; Diane Miller, Louisiana 3rd Congressional District constituent services; Rhonda Bussy, Ruddock’s Bakery, hostess; Congressman Clay Higgins; Denise Guillory, Neesie’s Sweet Dough Pies, hostess; John Chautin, Louisiana 3rd Congressional District coordinator; standing, Margie Reed, Iota, judge; Dale Pousson, Egan, judge; Gloria Stutes, Crowley, judge; Andre Rodrigue, Lafayette, judge; Charlene Lacombe, Iota, judge; Ronnie Collins, Jennings, judge; Joni Juergens, Lafayette, judge; Dwayne DeRouen, Lake Charles, judge; Pat Venable, Lafayette, judge; and Cindy Poirot, Lafayette, judge. Also present but not pictured was Dorothy Cormier, Lake Arthur, judge.

CAA hosts Congressional Art Competition at The Gallery

Congressman Clay Higgins (R-LA) has announced that Anna Wright, a junior from Breaux Bridge High School in St.


Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793